Scott Piatkowski elected Chair and Kathleen Woodcock elected Vice-Chair

At the Inaugural Board Meeting of the Waterloo Region District School Board (WRDSB), trustees elected Scott Piatkowski as Chair and Kathleen Woodcock as Vice-Chair.

Trustee Piatkowski and Trustee Woodcock, are in their first and fifth terms, respectively, as trustees. Trustee Piatkowski served as Vice-Chair for the past year and this is his first time serving as Chair. Trustee Woodcock has served as both Chair and Vice-Chair in the past.

“It’s an honour to serve alongside all of you and an even bigger honour to be chosen as Chair,” said Piatkowski. “Thank you for putting your confidence in me. I truly value the support that has been offered to me by those around the virtual boardroom, and I look forward to continuing the genuinely collaborative approach to the role that was established by former Chairs Weston and Herring. Congratulations to Vice-Chair Woodcock – I look forward to working closely with you over the coming year.”

“I want to thank outgoing Chair Weston for her leadership through unprecedented conditions, and for her steadfast commitment to supporting students and families,” said Woodcock. “As we look to the road ahead, I have hope that we are going to, together, come through this pandemic and be even better than before. We can be better, together. I am looking forward to exemplifying this collaborative spirit in my work with Chair Piatkowski.”

“With this transition in leadership on the Board of Trustees, I want to offer my heartfelt thanks to outgoing Chair Weston for leading the work of this important group through one of the most challenging years in education,” said Director of Education jeewan chanicka. “As Chair Piatkowski and Vice-Chair Woodcock take on their new roles, I have no doubt that they will continue to demonstrate their unwavering commitment to WRDSB students, staff and community members.”

Learn more about the WRDSB Trustees on our website.